The Great Escape

Graham Greene:

“Writing is a form of therapy; sometimes I wonder how all those who do not write, compose, or paint can manage to escape the madness, melancholia, the panic and fear which is inherent in a human situation.”

WalkOfLife

The short story of : The Great Escape

My feelings for you grew stronger and stronger each day, but at the same time I as a person grew weaker and weaker, until finally I lost everything that was “me.” There was nothing left in me to help me come back out. This me found an alternative universe, where it felt safe and comfortable. It preferred the imaginary universe far more than the real one. It was like a completely different universe, one that was so good that it was better than reality. I didn’t want to leave. It became a great escape, even though I knew it wasn’t real and it was not quite right yet I couldn’t let go. The contradiction between the two became very raw. I had become an excapist. However reality chased closely behind and often caught up. This was when it all hit back. The different dimensions collided, separated and merged, taking different controls each time. Maybe this is what {Rabih Alameddine meant when he said : “I believe one has to escape oneself to discover oneself.”}

esc

Leave a Reply

